ST OSYTH PARISH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at the Village Hall, St Osyth on Thursday 16th May 2024 at 7.00 pm



PRESENT: Chairman: Cllr. Karen Sinclair, Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Julie Ward

Cllr's Clive Atkins, Susan Ball, Alma Blockley, David Cooper, Ray French, Michael Talbot, Catherine Venables & John White

Cllr. Alan Goggin, Essex County Councillor

APOLOGIES: Cllr. Jake Moore (Holiday)

Cllr. Michele Thomas (Personal)

MINUTES: Neil Williams (Parish Clerk)

PUBLIC PRESENT: One

AGM-24-001 ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Clerk called for nominations. Cllr. Talbot stated that Cllr. Sinclair had enjoyed a very good year as Chair of the Council and moved that Cllr. Sinclair be nominated as the Chairman of the Council. The nomination was seconded by Cllr. French. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Sinclair be elected Parish Council Chairman for 2024/2025. Cllr. Sinclair accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

RESOLVED: That Cllr. Karen Sinclair be elected Chairman of the Parish Council for 2024/2025.

AGM-24-002 ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Chairman called for nominations for the appointment of Vice-Chairman. Cllr. White moved that Cllr. Ward be nominated as the Vice-Chairman of the Council, the nomination being seconded by Cllr. Cooper. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Ward be elected Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council for 2024/2025. Cllr. Ward accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

RESOLVED: That Cllr. Julie Ward be elected Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council for 2024/2025.

AGM-24-003 APOLOGIES:

At the request of the Chairman, the Clerk informed the Council that having discussed the subject with both the Chairman and Cllr. Moore, it was suggested that the latter, who had recently acquired a business in Chelmsford, take a sabbatical until September 2024. The Chairman stated that this would be an agenda item at the June meeting of the Council.

AGM-24-004 MEMBERS DECLARATION OF INTEREST:

The Chairman advised Councillors, that under Section 31 of the Localism Act 2011 and The Relevant Authorities (Disclosable Pecuniary Interests) Regulations 2012, they had a responsibility to declare any Pecuniary or Non-Pecuniary Interests in any matter to be discussed.

AGM-24-005 MINUTES:

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 18th May 2023, having already been signed by the Chairman as a true and accurate record on 15th June 2023, under reference **OM-23-048**, were noted.

AGM-24-006 STATUTORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES & NOMINATED REPRESENTATIVES:

The list of Committee and Working Party membership, and Council representatives to other organisations, having been circulated prior to the meeting, the Chairman enquired as to whether any Councillors wished to change their membership or appointments as nominated representatives.

- a. All Councillors confirmed that they were happy to remain as per the circulated list.
- b. The Chairman requested that Cllr. Venables be added to the list of Council representatives for the Almshouse Charity.
- c. Cllr. Talbot stated that the appointment to the Essex Association of Local Councils (EALC) was not a Parish Council responsibility, and that when he had been a member of EALC, it has been as the representative of the Tendring District Association of Local Councils (TDALC).

Mambarahin of Council Committees	
Membership of Council Committees	
Ordinary Council Meetings	All Councillors
Cemetery Committee	Cllr's Sinclair, Atkins, Ball, Blockley, Thomas &
	Ward
Finance Committee	Cllr's Cooper, French, Sinclair, Talbot,
	Venables & White
Personnel Committee	Cllr's Sinclair, Blockley, Cooper & Thomas
Working Parties	
Highways Working Party	Cllr's Cooper, Blockley, French & Moore
Martin's Farm	Cllr's Atkins & Clerk
Public Realm	Cllr's Ward, Ball, French, Moore & Sinclair
Council Representatives	
Allotments	Cllr. Blockley
Dumont Luncheon Club	Cllr. Ward
Footpaths	Cllr. Atkins
Parish Website	Clerk
Police Crime Statistics	Cllr. Cooper
Tendring District Association of	Cllr's Sinclair & Talbot
Local Councils	
Tendring District Council	Cllr's Talbot & White
Tree Warden	Cllr. Atkins
Nominative Trusteeships / Representatives	
Almshouses	Cllr's Sinclair, Cooper, Venables & White
Bradwell Power Station	Cllr. White
Brightlingsea Harbour	Cllr's Ball & Moore
Commissioners	
Playing Field Charity	Cllr. Thomas
Point Clear Community	Cllr. Thomas
Association	
Village Hall	Cllr. Thomas
St Osyth Priory & Parish Trust	Cllr. Thomas

AGM-24-007 PAYMENT OF ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS AND MEMBERSHIPS:

RESOLVED: That the list of annual subscriptions and memberships, as circulated, be approved. The motion was proposed by Cllr. White and seconded by Cllr. Blockley. All agreed.

AGM-24-008 PAYMENT OF COUNCILLOR'S ALLOWANCES:

RESOLVED: That the public notification of Councillor's allowances, as circulated, be approved. The motion was proposed by Cllr. Ball and seconded by Cllr. Talbot. All agreed.

AGM-24-009 REVIEW OF STANDING ORDERS, FINANCIAL REGULATIONS AND FINANCIAL RISK ASSESSMENT:

RESOLVED: That Standing Orders, Financial Regulations and the Financial Risk Assessment be referred to the Finance Committee for review, at its next meeting. The motion was proposed by Cllr. Atkins and seconded by Cllr. Ward. All agreed.

AGM-24-010 REVIEW OF INSURANCE POLICY:

The Clerk informed the Council that the current Insurance Policy had just been renewed with Clear Council, formerly BHIP.

N.B. The policy is a Long-Term Agreement (LTA), as approved by the Council at the AGM of 19th May 2022, and is extant until June 2025.

AGM-24-011 REVIEW OF PARISH COUNCIL DEEDS:

The Clerk informed the Council that the Deeds were available for inspection, should any Councillor wish to do so.

AGM-24-012 APPOINTMENT OF RESPONSIBLE FINANCIAL OFFICER AND INDEPENDENT INTERNAL AUDITOR:

The Chairman informed the Council of the statutory requirement to appoint a Responsible Financial Officer and Independent Internal Auditor.

RESOLVED: That Mr Martin Walsh be appointed as the Responsible Financial Officer and that Heather Heelis, Heelis & Lodge, be appointed as the Independent Internal Auditor. This was proposed by Cllr. Cooper and seconded by Cllr. Ward. All agreed.

The business of the Annual Meeting was concluded at 7.11 pm.

The Ordinary Meeting of the Parish Council followed.