ST OSYTH PARISH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at the Village Hall, St Osyth on Thursday 18th May 2023 at 7.00 pm



PRESENT: Chairman: Cllr. Karen Sinclair, Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Julie Ward

Cllr's Clive Atkins, Susan Ball, Alma Blockley, David Cooper,

Ray French, Mandy Kelly, Jake Moore, Michael Talbot,

Michele Thomas & John White

Nicola O'Dell (Deputy Parish Clerk)

Martin Walsh (Responsible Financial Officer)

MINUTES: Neil Williams (Parish Clerk)

PUBLIC PRESENT: One

AGM-23-001 ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Clerk called for nominations. Cllr. Cooper moved that Cllr. Sinclair be nominated as the Chairman of the Council. The nomination was seconded by Cllr. Ward. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Sinclair be elected Parish Council Chairman for 2023/2024. Cllr. Sinclair accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

RESOLVED: That Cllr. Karen Sinclair be elected Chairman of the Parish Council for 2023/2024.

AGM-23-002 ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Chairman called for nominations for the appointment of Vice-Chairman. Cllr. Thomas moved that Cllr. Ward be nominated as the Vice-Chairman of the Council, the nomination being seconded by Cllr. White. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Ward be elected Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council for 2023/2024. Cllr. Ward accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

RESOLVED: That Cllr. Julie Ward be elected Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council for 2023/2024.

AGM-23-003 WELCOME TO NEW COUNCILLORS:

The Chairman welcomed Cllr's Susan Ball and Jake Moore to their first meeting as members of the Parish Council.

AGM-23-004 MEMBERS DECLARATION OF INTEREST:

The Chairman advised Councillors, that under Section 31 of the Localism Act 2011 and The Relevant Authorities (Disclosable Pecuniary Interests) Regulations 2012, they had a responsibility to declare any Pecuniary or Non-Pecuniary Interests in any matter to be discussed.

AGM-23-005 MINUTES:

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 19th May 2022, having already been signed by the Chairman as a true and accurate record on 16th June 2022, under reference **OM-22-050**, were noted.

AGM-23-006 STATUTORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES & NOMINATED REPRESENTATIVES:

The list of Committee and Working Party membership, and Council representatives to other organisations, having been circulated prior to the meeting, the Chairman enquired as to whether any Councillors wished to change their membership or appointments as nominated representatives.

- a. All Councillors confirmed that they were happy to remain as per the circulated list.
- b. The Chairman suggested that the appointment of Cllr's Ball and Moore be discussed with the Clerk and the respective Councillors at a later date. All agreed.

Membership of Council Committees	
Ordinary Council Meetings	All Councillors
Cemetery Committee	Cllr's Sinclair, Atkins, Blockley, Kelly, Thomas
Cernetery Committee	& Ward
Finance Committee	Cllr's Cooper, French, Sinclair, Talbot & White
Personnel Committee	
	Cllr's Sinclair, Blockley, Cooper & Thomas
Blooms & Planters Clir's Ward & Blockley	
	Clir's Ward & Blockley
Highways Working Party	Cllr's Blockley, Cooper & French
Martin's Farm	Cllr's Atkins & Clerk
Playground, Youth & Open Spaces	
Council Representatives	
Benches	tba
Community Speed Watch	Cllr's Cooper & French
Footpaths	Cllr. Atkins
Essex Assoc of Local Councils	Cllr. Talbot (District via TDALC)
Litter Bins & Planters	Cllr. Ward
Parish Website Advisor	Clerk
Police Crime Statistics	Cllr's Cooper (St Osyth) & Kelly (Point Clear)
Tendring District Association of	Cllr. Talbot
Local Councils	
Tree Warden	Cllr. French
Nominative Trusteeships / Representatives	
Almshouses	Cllr's Sinclair, Cooper & White
Bradwell Power Station	Cllr. White
Playing Field Charity	Cllr. Thomas
Point Clear Community	Cllr. Blockley
Association	
Village Hall	Cllr. Thomas
St Osyth Priory & Parish Trust	Clerk

AGM-23-007 PAYMENT OF ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS AND MEMBERSHIPS:

RESOLVED: That the list of annual subscriptions and memberships, as circulated, be approved. The motion was proposed by Cllr. Kelly and seconded by Cllr. White. All agreed.

AGM-23-008 PAYMENT OF COUNCILLOR'S ALLOWANCES:

RESOLVED: That the public notification of Councillor's allowances, as circulated, be approved. The motion was proposed by Cllr. Talbot and seconded by Cllr. Thomas. All agreed.

AGM-23-009 REVIEW OF STANDING ORDERS, FINANCIAL REGULATIONS AND FINANCIAL RISK ASSESSMENT:

RESOLVED: That Standing Orders, Financial Regulations and the Financial Risk Assessment be referred to the Finance Committee for review, at its next meeting. The motion was proposed by Cllr. Cooper and seconded by Cllr. Blockley. All agreed.

AGM-23-010 REVIEW OF INSURANCE POLICY:

The Clerk reminded the Council that the current Insurance Policy was a Long-Term Agreement (LTA) as approved by the Council at the AGM of 19th May 2022, and that the policy would be extant until June 2025.

AGM-23-011 REVIEW OF PARISH COUNCIL DEEDS:

The Clerk informed the Council that the Deeds were available for inspection, should any Councillor wish to do so.

AGM-23-012 APPOINTMENT OF RESPONSIBLE FINANCIAL OFFICER AND INDEPENDENT INTERNAL AUDITOR:

The Chairman informed the Council of the statutory requirement to appoint a Responsible Financial Officer and Independent Internal Auditor.

RESOLVED: That Mr Martin Walsh be appointed as the Responsible Financial Officer and that Heather Heelis, Heelis & Lodge, be appointed as the Independent Internal Auditor. This was proposed by Cllr. Talbot and seconded by Cllr. Ward. All agreed.

The business of the Annual General Meeting was concluded at 7.11 pm.

The Ordinary Meeting of the Parish Council followed.

Signature: [Signed on Original]
KJE Sinclair
Chairman