### ST OSYTH PARISH COUNCIL



## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held in the Village Hall, St Osyth on Thursday 16<sup>th</sup> May 2013 at 7.30 pm



PRESENT: Chairman Cllr. Sonia Grantham, Cllrs Robert Clarke, George Gibbs,

Colleen Peverell, Alan Rolfe, Jean Smith, Michael Talbot and

Graham Underwood

APOLOGIES: Cllrs Lesley Fuller, John Kemp and Simon Talbot

PC Mike Kettlety

NOT PRESENT: Cllrs Julie Ward and John White

MINUTES: Neil Williams

**PUBLIC PRESENT:** Four

### AGM-13-001 ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Clerk called for nominations. Cllr. Talbot moved that Cllr. Grantham remain as the Chairman of the Council, thanking her on behalf of the Council for her work throughout the year. The nomination was seconded by Cllr. Underwood. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Grantham be elected Parish Council Chairman for 2013/2014. Cllr. Grantham accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

### AGM-13-002 ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Chairman called for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Cllr. Talbot moved that Cllr. Clarke remain as the Vice-Chairman of the Council, the nomination being seconded by Cllr. Smith. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Clarke be elected Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council for 2013/2014. Cllr. Clarke accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

### **AGM-13-003 MEMBERS DECLARATION OF INTEREST:**

The Chairman advised Councillors, that under Section 31 of the Localism Act 2011 and The Relevant Authorities (Disclosable Pecuniary Interests) Regulations 2012, they had a responsibility to declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Personal Interests in any matter to be discussed.

#### AGM-13-004 MINUTES:

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 17<sup>th</sup> May 2012, having already been signed by the Vice-Chairman as a true and accurate record on 21<sup>st</sup> June 2012 under reference **G-12-033** were noted.

# AGM-13-005 STATUTORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES AND REPRESENTATIVES:

Membership of Council Committees	
General Council Meetings	All Councillors (11)
Gonoral Goarion mootings	(2 Vacancies)
Planning Meetings	All Councillors (11)
i laming weetings	(2 Vacancies)
Finance Committee	Chairman, Vice Chairman
Timanoe Committee	Clirs. Smith, M. Talbot, Ward & White (6)
	(1 Vacancy)
Cemetery Committee	Cllr. J Smith
Genicially Committee	Clirs. Grantham, Peverell, Rolfe, M. Talbot,
	Ward & White (7)
Personnel Committee	Chairman
l ersonner committee	Cllrs. Kemp, Smith & Ward (4)
	(1 Vacancy)
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	orking Parties
Playground, Youth & Open	Cllr. L Fuller
Spaces	Clirs. Grantham, Clarke, Peverell, Smith &
Spaces	Ward (6)
Highways Working Party	Cllr. R Clarke
Trigriways Working Farty	Clirs. Grantham, Gibbs, Fuller & Kemp (5)
Blooms in St. Osyth	Clirs. Grantham, Fuller & Ward (3)
Martins Farm	Clirs. Rolfe, Grantham & Ward (3)
Council Representatives	
Footpaths	Cllr. Peverell
Tendring District Association of	Clir. M Talbot
Local Councils (TDALC)	
Essex Association of Local	Cllr. M Talbot
Council Committee	District via TDALC
Parish Public Transport	Cllr. Gibbs
Representative Scheme	
Parish Web Site Advisers	Cllrs. M Talbot
Police Liaison Officers	Cllrs. Grantham
	(1 Vacancy)
Parish Tree Warden	Professor GJC Underwood
Nominative Trusteeships / Representatives	
St Osyth Almshouses	Cllrs. White & Gibbs
Point Clear Community	Cllr. Fuller
Association	
Village Hall	Cllr. Kemp
Older Persons	Cllr. Gibbs
St Osyth Playing Field Charity	Cllrs. Rolfe, Peverell & Smith
Colne Estuary Partnership	Cllrs. White & Smith (Parish Rep)
Bradwell Power Station	Cllr. White

### AGM-13-006 PAYMENT OF ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS AND MEMBERSHIPS:

This item was referred to the Finance Committee for consideration. All agreed.

### AGM-13-007 PAYMENT OF COUNCILLOR'S ALLOWANCES:

It was agreed the list of allowances be displayed as a public notice. All agreed.

## AGM-13-008 REVIEW OF STANDING ORDERS, FINANCIAL REGULATIONS AND INSURANCE POLICY:

It was agreed that these items be referred to the Finance Committee for review. All agreed.

# AGM-13-009 APPOINTMENT OF RESPONSIBLE FINANCIAL OFFICER AND INDEPENDENT INTERNAL AUDITOR:

The Chairman informed the Council of the requirement to appoint Mr Martin Walsh as the Responsible Financial Officer and Heelis & Lodge as the Independent Internal Auditor. This was proposed by Cllr. Kemp and seconded by Cllr. Smith. All agreed.

### AGM-13-010 RESIGNATION OF APPOINTMENT:

Having submitted a written resignation, Cllr. Underwood wished the Parish Council every success for the future. In response, the Chairman thanked Cllr. Underwood for all he had done for the Parish.

The business of the Annual Meeting was concluded at 7.50pm.

The General Meeting followed.

Signature: [Signed on Original]
SW Grantham
Chairman