ST OSYTH PARISH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of St Osyth Parish Council held in the Village Hall, St Osyth on Thursday 17th May 2012 at 7.30 pm

PRESENT: Chairman Cllr. Sonia Grantham, Cllrs George Gibbs,

Lesley Fuller, John Kemp, Alan Rolfe, Jean Smith and

Michael Talbot

APOLOGIES: Cllrs Robert Clarke, Colleen Peverell, Simon Talbot,

Graham Underwood, Julie Ward and John White

Cllr. Derek Robinson, Essex County Council (ECC)

PCSO Dan Foley, Essex Police

MINUTES: Neil Williams

PUBLIC PRESENT: Two

AM-12-001 ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Chairman called for nominations. Cllr. Talbot moved that Cllr. Grantham remain as the Chairman of the Council, thanking her on behalf of the Council for her work throughout the year. The nomination was seconded by Cllr. Fuller. Members unanimously agreed that Cllr. Grantham be elected Parish Council Chairman for 2012/2013. Cllr. Grantham accepted the post and duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

AM-12-002 ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL:

The Chairman called for nominations, informing the Council that Cllr. Clarke was prepared to stand as Vice-Chairman again. There were no further nominations. Members unanimously agreed that in his absence, Cllr. Clarke be elected Vice-Chairman for 2012/2013.

AM-12-003 MEMBERS DECLARATION OF INTEREST:

The Chairman advised Councillors, under the Model Code of Conduct Order 2007 (SI.2007/1159) (The Revised Code) with additional non-mandatory section 12 (2), they have a responsibility to declare any personal or prejudicial interest in any matter to be discussed.

Cllr. Smith expressed an interest in St Osyth Priory.

AM-12-004 MINUTES:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the Annual Council Meeting of 19th May 2011, having already been previously circulated be verified for accuracy by the Council and signed by the Chairman as a true and accurate record.

AM-12-005 STATUTORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES AND REPRESENTATIVES:

Membership of Council Committees	
General Council Meetings	All Councillors (13)
Planning Meetings	All Councillors (13)
Finance Committee	Chairman, Vice Chairman
	Cllrs. Smith, M. Talbot, Underwood, Ward &
	White (7)
Cemetery Committee	Cllr. J Smith
	Cllrs. Grantham, Peverell, Rolfe, M. Talbot,
	Ward & White (7)
Personnel Committee	Chairman, Vice Chairman
	Cllrs. Kemp, S. Talbot, Underwood & Ward (6)
Working Parties	
Playground, Youth & Open	Cllr. L Fuller
Spaces	Cllrs. Grantham, Clarke, Peverell, Smith &
	Ward (6)
Highways Working Party	Cllr. R Clarke
	Cllrs. Grantham, Gibbs, Fuller & Kemp (5)
Blooms in St. Osyth	Cllrs. Grantham, Fuller & Ward (3)
Martins Farm	Cllrs. Rolfe, Grantham & Ward (3)
Council Representatives	
Footpaths	Cllr. Peverell
Tendring District Association of	Cllr. M Talbot
Local Councils (TDALC)	
Essex Association of Local	Cllr. M Talbot
Council Committee	District via TDALC
Parish Public Transport	Cllr. Gibbs
Representative Scheme	
Parish Web Site Advisers	Cllrs. M & S Talbot
Police Liaison Officers	Cllrs. Grantham & S. Talbot
Parish Tree Warden	Cllr. Underwood
Nominative Trusteeships / Representatives	
	Cllrs. White & Gibbs
Point Clear Community	Cllr. Fuller
Association	
Village Hall	Cllr. Kemp
Older Persons	Cllr. Gibbs
St Osyth Playing Field Charity	Cllrs. Rolfe, Peverell & Smith
Colne Estuary Partnership	Cllrs. White & Smith (Parish Rep)
Bradwell Power Station	Cllr. White

AM-12-006 APPOINTMENT OF RESPONSIBLE FINANCIAL OFFICER AND INDEPENDENT INTERNAL AUDITOR:

The Chairman informed the Council of the requirement to reaffirm Mrs Linda Richards as the Responsible Financial Officer and Heelis & Lodge as the Independent Internal Auditor. This was proposed by Cllr. Kemp and seconded by Cllr. Smith. All agreed.

AM-12-007 PAYMENT OF ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS AND MEMBERSHIPS:

This item was referred to the Finance Committee for consideration.

AM-12-008 PAYMENT OF COUNCILLOR'S ALLOWANCES:

It was agreed the list of allowances be displayed as a public notice and included as agenda item at the next General meeting in June 2012.

The business of the Annual Meeting was concluded at 7.55pm.

The General Meeting followed.

Signature: [Signed on Original] SW Grantham Chairman