Summer Show 2016


Some of the members and visitors gathered after the Prize Giving.

Once again the Society is in the Village Hall showing off the entries submitted to the various competitions that make up the Summer Show, held this year on 2nd July 2016.
The weather in the weeks preceding the show had been a combination of everything ‘bad’. We had very strong winds on some days swirling and gusting 80 mph. We had very heavy and continuous rain which caused many roads and gardens to flood, which whilst in no way a threat to life, was a major problem for many residents with the need to clear up when the weather abated.
The numbers of entries were well down for this show, but the saying “quality not quantity” could well be applied this time as some very impressive entries were on show!

You may just be able to read the display notice, but if you cannot the entry of Geraniums
are from the St Osyth, Church of England, Primary School. The Society is always keen
to encourage young gardeners and therefore is pleased to see this entry.

Selling Raffle tickets. Christine and Stephen

Visitors admiring one of the Flower Tables

Dulcie and Sue plant sales stall. Christine just visiting.

A table of Home Crafts. One for a corner cupboard.

The awards presentation party, from left to right are Christine Harman, Vice-chairman and Show Secretary on the stage, Lesley Grimwood our Treasurer, Dulcie Evans our Chairman and Correspondence Secretary and extreme right Stephen Cole, (who just happens to be Chairman of the Village Hall committee) and today has been asked to present the awards to our Summer Show prize winners.

After putting a caption on the picture above I think it might be of interest to print here the names and roles of all those who work so hard to make these shows a success. The Committee is led by Dulcie Evans as Chairman and Correspondence Secretary; Christine Harman is vice-chairman and Show Secretary; Leslie Grimwood is Treasurer; Terence Lidington our Meetings Secretary; Susan McAree Membership Secretary; and members with no specific office, Alf Butters, Sue Butters, Christine Chadbourne, Elizabeth Dawtry, John Wood and Maureen Wood. This is the team that run the Point Clear and St Osyth Horticultural Society for the benefit of all our residents and visitors!



Leave a Reply